Disabling a player saves all his information but removes his ability to sign in to TeamSnap. A coach or manager might use this capability to prevent someone from signing in or messaging the team. Or to help a user change the login associated with his player roster.
Once a player has been disabled, the coach or manager can invite the player to the team as if he were a new player.
The feature is found on the player profile page: