Understanding Alert Messages

Sending important information updates to your team is super easy with TeamSnap's Alert Messages feature. Rather than choosing what kind of message needs to be sent out and trying to figure out who gets what kind of message, you can simply send out one message as an Alert message to your entire team. Depending on user preferences, each member will receive the message in the format they choose: a push notification , an SMS/text message, an email, or a combination. This makes it so that the sender does not need to send the message in multiple ways.

Alert Messages can be sent from the Messages tab on the TeamSnap web and mobile apps. Both sent and received alerts appear in the "Alerts" section under the Messages tab. 

When an Alert is sent, TeamSnap delivers the message via either push notification, SMS, or email to each enabled user as follows:

Push Notifications Enabled? SMS/Text Enabled? Alert Type Received
yes-png-9.png minus-5-xxl.png Push Notification + Email
x-mark-4-512.png yes-png-9.png SMS/Text
x-mark-4-512.png x-mark-4-512.png Email


Who gets a Push Notification and Email?

Android and iPhone users who have the most recent mobile app and push notifications enabled for Alerts will receive a push notification AND an email instead of an SMS text. 

Who gets an old-fashioned SMS text message?

Android and iPhone users with push notifications toggled off for Alerts, user's on older versions of the app, non-smartphone users. (As long as they have enabled their phone number to receive text alerts.)

Can a Team Administrator Decide How the Alert is Received? 

No. Each recipient will receive the Alert message according to their preferences and set up. The sender can simply decide to send the Alert and then the message will be delivered accordingly. 

How Can I make sure that Push Notifications are Enabled? 

Read here to make sure you are set up properly: Mobile Push Notifications

Can I receive Alert Messages as Text Messages instead of Push Notifications? 

Yes,  you can opt to receive Alerts as text messages, we strongly recommend that our mobile customers opt to receive Alerts as push notifications. Receiving text messages instead of push notifications for Alert Messages currently requires turning off push notifications for Alerts and Schedule updates. 

Follow the steps below to disable Push Notifications for Alerts and Enable Alerts to be received as Text Messages. 

Enabling SMS/Text Alert Messages (aka Disabling Push Notifications)

Receiving text messages instead of push notifications currently requires turning off push notifications. To do this, the user must disable push notifications for Alerts & Schedule updates AND enable their mobile number for text Alerts on their roster profile. 

1

Disable push notifications on your mobile device

iOS

  1. Open TeamSnap app
  2. Go to the Team 
  3. Under Menu, tap My Preferences tab
  4. Under Mobile Notifications, tap to toggle the switch OFF for Alerts and Schedule Updates

Android

  1. Open TeamSnap app
  2. Go to the Team 
  3. Tap the menu icon (top right)
  4. Tap Notification Preferences
  5. Under Mobile Notifications, tap to toggle the switch OFF for Alerts and Schedule Updates
2

Enable mobile number on roster 

  1. Log into TeamSnap.com on the web/open TeamSnap app
  2. Tap/click team
  3. Tap/click Roster tab
  4. Tap/click member name
  5. Tap/click Edit icon
  6. Tap/click phone number field
  7. Ensure number is entered
  8. Tap/click to toggle Alerts switch/checkbox on
  9. Tap/click Save

After these settings have been adjusted, you will receive SMS/Text messages when Alert messages are sent for the team.

Note: Our SMS/Text functionality is currently a true one-way SMS system. TeamSnap texts cannot accept direct replies. The number of the ‘sender’ is included at the end of the text.  Please use this number to generate a direct text for replies.

Deleting Alert Messages

The feature is only available online.  Once a message has been delivered, like emails and texts, it cannot be retrieved or deleted.  Alerts will remain visible via each recipient's app.

To delete online, just check the box to see the delete button appear.  Delete and go!