Remove a Team from Your Account

This article covers the various methods for removing a team from your TeamSnap account. The method you will use for removing a team will depend upon your role on the team, and what you'd like the end result to be. If you are attempting to delete or remove your entire TeamSnap account, you will need to contact support for assistance.

In this article


Remove a Team You Are a Member Of

Who can do this:
  • Roster Members
  • Team Managers
  • Team Owners
  • Commissioners
  • Organization Owners
Where to do this:
  • Web app
  • mobile app icon

To remove a team that you are a roster member of, you have the option to leave the team at any time. TeamSnap allows you to leave a team if you are not the team owner, and are on the roster as the primary contact under your member. If you are not the primary contact for your member, you will not see the option to leave the team and will need to follow the steps under the 'Leave a Team You Are a Contact or Family Member On' section below.

The team will be removed from the My Teams section of your My Leagues and Teams dashboard screen. If you want to stay on the team remove it from your teams list, you can hide it from being listed on your team list in the mobile app.


Leave a Team You Are a Member Of

This action will remove you from the team's roster and will remove your access to the team and remove the member profile from the roster. To regain access to the team you will need to be re-added and invited by a team manager.

  1. Hover over the Account button at the top right of your screen
  2. Click Manage My Teams
  3. Click on the name of the team to be retired or deleted in the left-hand column of the screen (if you are only on one team you can skip this)
    1. If you do not see the team listed under Manage My Teams, this means that you are on the team as a roster contact. In that case, continue through the section below to remove the team.
  4. Click Leave the Team for the appropriate team

Leave a Team You Are a Contact or Family Member On

If the team you want to be removed from does not appear under the Account screen when you follow the instructions above, then you are likely listed as a secondary contact for a roster member on that team. Following the steps below will remove you as a contact from the roster profile you are listed on and you will lose access to the team. To regain access at any time you will need to be re-added and invited by the roster member or a team manager. 

  1. Click your name below the team name on the TeamSnap Dashboard
  2. Click Roster tab (Member tab for non-sporting teams)
  3. Click your roster member's name or click the Manage My Player Info button
  4. Click Edit
  5. Click the red X to the right of your contact entry (clicking the X for your email or phone number will not remove you from the team) and click Delete to confirm

remove-contact.gif


Remove a Team You Own

Who can do this:
  • Roster Members
  • Team Managers
  • Team Owners
  • Commissioners
  • Organization Owners
Where to do this:
  • Web app
  • mobile app icon

First, let's touch on why you may or may not want to retire vs. delete your team, or take another route entirely. 

If you've already made your decision, feel free to skip down to the instructions below.

When to Retire

If you are the team owner and are finished with your team, you can retire the team from active status. This will remove the team from all members’ list of active teams, it will cancel future billing, and save a read-only copy of the team that you can continue to access in the TeamSnap Dashboard in the browser version of TeamSnap.

When to Delete

We do not recommend doing this, except in cases where perhaps you created a team by mistake when you were trying to join a team or were trying to do something else. Why? Well the only way you will even see the option to delete a team is if the roster and schedule are empty. Please keep in mind that deleting a team removes it permanently, and it cannot be retrieved or accessed ever again. It will be gone. We will have no way to get it back. Really. Delete means delete. If you feel any apprehension towards deleting a team, we strongly advise against it. If you do it, we really can't do anything to bring it back later. Really.

Alternative to Retiring or Deleting Your Team

If you're not positive that you want to completely get rid of your team right now, you can always go inactive for the off-season by setting your team to the free plan. This will immediately stop all billing immediately and hide some of the paid  features,  but will allow you to keep your team active and the team data available for when/if you decide to upgrade back to a paid plan again. 

If you've settled on retiring or deleting the team, please follow the steps below.


Retire or Delete a Team That You Own

  1. Hover over the Account button at the top right of your screen
  2. Click Manage My Teams
  3. Click on the name of the team to be retired or deleted in the left-hand column of the screen (if you only have one team you can skip this)
  4. To RETIRE
    1. Click the Retire this Team button to permanently deactivate the team and all its data
  5. To DELETE (this option will only be displayed if the team roster and schedule are empty. Also, this is permanent. It cannot be undone. No backsies.)
    1. Click the Delete this Team button to permanently delete the team and all its data 
    2. You'll have to enter the team name in the pop-up to confirm your choice to delete


Remove a Team from Your Organization

Who can do this:
  • Roster Members
  • Team Managers
  • Team Owners
  • Commissioners
  • Organization Owners
Where to do this:
  • Web app
  • mobile app icon

If you want to remove a single team from your active organization season without creating a new team season, you have two options: retiring or deleting.


Retire an Organization Team 

Retiring an organization team saves your team as a past season in much the same way that archiving a team does. The difference is that retiring a team will not carry over any information into a new season. 

Tip: Any member (including administrators) that will need to access a team season after it has been retired must be added and join as a member of the team roster before the team is retired if they are not already a member of that team. 
  1. Log into TeamSnap
  2. Click your organization name on the TeamSnap Dashboard
  3. Click the Divisions tab (or the Teams tab if you have no divisions set up)
    1. If you have subdivisions set up, navigate down to the subdivision where the team you'd like to remove is listed
  4. Hover over the 3-dot Admin button to the right of the desired team
  5. Click Retire 


Delete an Organization Team 

Deleting an organization team will permanently erase all team data. As a commissioner, before you delete a team under your organization umbrella, make sure that the team is completely finished and no longer needed. When a team is deleted from the organization, all associated data including the player roster profiles are deleted with the team. Deleted team data cannot be retrieved! 

  1. Enter your organization, click the name under the My Leagues section
  2. Navigate to the Divisions tab or Teams tab 
    1. Go to the division/subdivision where the team you wish to update is set up 
  3. Hover over the Snap Action (box with 3 dots in the Admin column next to the team you wish to delete) 
  4. Select Delete 

If you are receiving an error message indicating that the team cannot be deleted, this is because there are TeamLink (organization-wide events attached to the active or an archived season). In this case, you will want to consider retiring that team.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.