Season Archiving

Season archiving saves a copy of the current season and creates a fresh blank season. Archiving is an irreversible process, so it is important to understand how the feature works prior to initiating an archive.

Note: Season archiving is only available for accounts on paid team plans.

In this article

Important things to understand about archiving:
  • Archived seasons display the features available for the plan in the active season. This means if you downgrade plans in your active season and lose features, those features will also be inaccessible in the archive. If you upgrade plans again, the features will become accessible and no data will have been lost.
  • Archived seasons can only be viewed from the browser version of TeamSnap, they are not accessible in the mobile apps. 
  • Only an administrator that is also on the roster of the archive before archiving will be able to go into the archive and make edits if needed.
  • Complete schedule and availability data may not be copied to season archives if there are a large number of rosters or events, purely for technical reasons. The current threshold is (# rosters x # events > 9,500) which is typically enough for most teams, especially if they regularly archive each season.

About Team Season Archiving

This archiving option is irreversible. Use the team archive process when:

  • You need to keep the same rosters for the new season.
  • Next season’s events have already been entered into the schedule.
  • There is team data that needs to be copied to the new season.
  • You are an independent team owner (in that case, this is your only archive option).

These items are available to select to bring into the new season. If not selected, they will be archived with the outgoing season and *cleared for the new season:

  • Schedule
  • Roster
    • If selected, you can also select:
    • Classic payments (PayPal)
    • Photos and files
    • Tracking items
    • Messages: posts, emails, alerts

*Team chat data, schedule locations and opponents, and WePay payments are always copied to the new season and are never archived with the old season.

TeamSnap Live (TSL) game and event chat data is not preserved and will be lost when the associated schedule is archived.


How to Archive a Season by Team

Who can do this:
  • Roster Members
  • Team Managers
  • Team Owners
  • Commissioners
  • Organization Owners
Where to do this:
  • Web app
  • mobile app icon
Tip: Any member (including administrators) that needs to access a team season once it has been archived, must be a member of the team-level roster before the archive. This means that a club or league admin that needs access should add another profile for themselves on the team itself before running the archive process.
  1. Log into TeamSnap
  2. Navigate to the desired team
    1. To archive a team that is part of a club or league: 
      1. Click the league name under the My Leagues section of the dashboard 
      2. Click the Divisions tab
      3. Click the team name
    2. To archive an independent team
      1. Click the team name under the My Teams section of the dashboard
  3. Click the Manager tab
  4. Click the Seasons tab
  5. Click the Start a New Season button
  6. Enter Completed Season Name and New Season Name
  7. Make selections for any existing data to be carried forward to the new season
    1. If any events for the new season have already been entered on the schedule, please make sure you pay close attention to the Event to Start the New Season selection. Once the archive has processed, games/events archived with the old season cannot be brought forward to the new season.
    2. Team chat data and WePay payments are always copied to the new season and is not archived with the old season
  8. Click Archive This Season and Start a New Season button

The archive will process and after a few minutes, the new season will be available. The archived season can be accessed on the web (not mobile apps) on the TeamSnap Dashboard screen by clicking Show Archived/Retired Seasons at the bottom of the My Teams section. If you don't need the new season, you can delete the new season's team that is created from the archive.


About Division Season Archiving

clears everything in the selected division with the option to copy division/team names forward

Use the division archive process when:

  • You need to archive the season for a single division while leaving the rest of the organization active
  • You don't need to carry any team data over to the new season
  • You are the organization owner or a commissioner with division or org level permissions 

These items are available for selection to bring into the new season. If not selected, they will be archived with the outgoing season and cleared for the new season:

  • Subdivision names
  • Team names

These items are not available for selection to bring into the new season and will be archived with the outgoing season and cleared for the new season:

  • Schedule (includes locations, opponents
  • Roster
    • *Division commissioner rosters are automatically copied to the new season
  • Photos and files
  • Tracking items
  • Messages: posts, emails, alerts, TeamSnap Live chats
  • Statistics
  • Payments

How to Archive a Season by Division

Who can do this:
  • Roster Members
  • Team Managers
  • Team Owners
  • Commissioners
  • Organization Owners
Where to do this:
  • Web app
  • mobile app icon
  1. Log into TeamSnap
  2. Click League name under the My Leagues section of the dashboard
  3. Click the Settings tab
  4. Click the Seasons button
  5. Click the Archive Division button
  6. Enter Completed Season Name and New Season Name
  7. Make selections for the division and/or team names to be carried forward to new season if desired
  8. Click Archive This Season and Start a New Season button

The archive will process and after a few minutes, the new season will be available. The archived season can be accessed on the web (they will not be accessible in the mobile apps) on the TeamSnap Dashboard screen by clicking Show Archived/Retired Seasons at the bottom of the My Leagues section.


About Organization Season Archiving

saves a copy of current season for archive, then clears all data for the new season with options to bring division and/or team names to the new season

Use the full organization archive process when:

  • You want to start your season with a totally clean slate
  • You are the organization owner or a commissioner with org level permissions 
Warning: Archiving does not close registration forms. Registrants that have the link to an archived season registration form can still fill out that form. We recommend closing all registration forms when you perform an organization archive. 

These items are available for selection to bring into the new season. If not selected, they will be archived with the outgoing season and cleared for the new season:

  • Division names
  • Team names
  • Registration forms (does not include completed registrant information)

These items are not available for selection to bring into the new season and will be archived with the outgoing season and cleared for the new season:

  • Schedule (includes locations, opponents
  • Roster
    • *Division commissioner rosters are automatically copied to the new season
  • Photos and files
  • Tracking items
  • Messages: posts, emails, alerts, TeamSnap Live chats
  • Statistics
  • Payments
  • Registrant data (completed registration information)
Attention: New season registration forms are copies of archived season forms. Copied registration forms will not contain player or participant data from the prior season, and will have a brand new and unique Public Registration Address.

How to Archive a Full Organization Season

Who can do this:
  • Roster Members
  • Team Managers
  • Team Owners
  • Commissioners
  • Organization Owners
Where to do this:
  • Web app
  • mobile app icon
  1. Log into TeamSnap
  2. Click the League name under the My Leagues section of the dashboard
  3. Click the Settings tab
  4. Click the Seasons button
  5. Click the Archive Full League button
  6. Enter Completed Season Name and New Season Name
  7. Make selections for divisions and/or team names to be carried forward to new season if desired
  8. Click the Archive This Season and Start a New Season button

The archive will process and after a few minutes, the new season will be available. The archived season can be accessed on the web (not mobile apps) on the TeamSnap Dashboard screen by clicking Show Archived/Retired Seasons at the bottom of the My Leagues section.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.